Planning for metropolitan Sydney’s subregions

Apr 2, 2015 Planning News

Over the last few weeks I have attended meetings with planners from councils in the area which is identified by the State as the North Subregion. This area consists of eleven councils on the north side of the Harbour – Pittwater, Warringah, Manly, Mosman, North Sydney, Lane Cove, Hunters Hill, Ryde, Hornsby, Willoughby and Ku-ring-gai.

The subregional plans will be prepared by the State government and include targets for housing and employment. The subregional planning process will consider how to best plan for growth in the subregion. The State is seeking technical input from local councils to inform the content of the Plans. Meeting with local planners in the subregion is part of that process. You can find out more about the government’s plans here

The government is working towards completion of these plans by mid-2015.