Winners announced for the 2013 Mosman Design Awards

Mar 13, 2013 Mosman Design Awards

The Mosman Design Awards presentation evening once again was a big hit with the nominating architects, owners and judges that attended the event on 11 March at the Mosman Art Gallery. The walls of the Art Gallery were adorned with designs of many well known and respected architects.

Michael MacCormick and Shahe Simonian won two awards; the 2013 People’s Choice Award and Winner of the Built Environment category for 85-87 Bay Street. During her deliberations juror, Gabrielle Morrish, described the property asa subtle reference to the earth, sky and the sea in its design – all essential elements in the experience of this part of Mosman” and went on to say that the jury as impressed with the sense of adventure, thoughtfulness and changing sense of enclosure of the design from the entry into the site through the rock mouse hole up to the house and into the house itself. The client Peter Pappas was very impressed and supportive of the architect last night.

Architect Luigi Russell was surprised but very pleased to yet again win an award.  This year for 15 Lennox Street, for Excellence in Adaptive Reuse, the jury considered that the whole design was responsive and beautifully created. It is an original solution that responds well to the existing home and enhances its character in a subtle and elegant way.

Juror, Nick Tobias, made it quite clear in his presentation of the commendation award to architect Ian Moore, that he had done an impressive job with his project 31 Fairfax Road and the use of the minimalist style approach. He noted that although the style requires very minimal effort, getting the style right requires a lot of effort which very few architects actually achieve. It was for this reason that the panel felt Ian Moore should be commended for this house.

It was the simple, clean expression of 27 Raglan Street to the street that lead to architect Domenic Alvaro being commended for his design by the jury. The design builds on the eclectic character of Raglan Street and the simple architectural statement of the house.

Photos of the winning properties and the judged citations can be found at

We thank the three judges Robert Staas, Gabrielle Morrish and Nick Tobias for their time and thoughtful deliberation in judging the nominations for this year’s Awards.

The next Mosman Design Awards will be held in 2015 and we look forward to many new nominations.